h1

Spice and Wolf & H2O – Footprints in the Sand

January 11, 2008

Spice and Wolf

Spice and Wolf

Although I don’t know yet what should think about the characters of Spice and Wolf I like what I’ve seen so far. The show accomplishes to emit a nice medieval atmosphere, its music fits well to this atmosphere, the animation and the character design looks good and the ending song has some nice engrish to offer. Lawrence’s more or less normal behavior toward the naked Holo was a nice change compared to the behavior most of other male anime characters would show. He definitely earned some brownie points here. On a negative note it was rather bad how they handled the display of Holo’s nudity. Not that I expected or wished to see more, but even if it’s sometimes quite silly how the “naughty bits” are hidden in other works it’s still better than just leave them out when their could be seen normally. I think they could have easily worked with Holo’s long hair and tail here. But oh well, it isn’t that of a problem after all.
Wonder in which way the story will develop now. Guess the last scene with Chloe indicates that Holo might still be important in some way for the village because the priests seem to have noticed her disappearance quite quickly.

H2O – Footprints in the Sand

H2O

H2O is a rather mediocre series so far. First of all I found Takuma’s blindness to be not very authentic illustrated. Okay, I don’t know much about the behavior of blind people nor do I know how it should be translated in anime behavior, but it just felt wrong. Furthermore the characters seem to be rather shallow and their design is not appealing enough to compensate for this drawback. In fact the only reason for me to continue watching this show at the moment is because I’d like to know how the class rep was able to create this fascistic-like system in her class (and I would complain either to see her and her two thugs getting the beating they deserve). Maybe it gets better before I lose the little interest that is left, but I’m not very hopeful.

9 comments

  1. I don’t really like either anime. Spice and Wolf kinda bored me and H20 isn’t an anime I would normally watch.


  2. OH so they came to visit her about the wolf ? I thought it had to do with the count and that business deal Lawrence recommended against doing it?


  3. Hmmm…, I guess you might me right. I thought that Lawrence just meant that it is dangerous in a financial way, but the man in Chloe’s scene doesn’t look so much like a priest like I remembered. Thanks.


  4. I think Spice and Wolf might have a chance become a good series if it took the right path.

    As for H2O, all i can say is will it rocks my soul after 3 episodes.

    Its been a long time, saibotlieh.


  5. It’s surely been, nice to read from you again. I’m all with you about Spice and Wolf, but my hopes are rather low with H2O.


  6. i somewhat like both, but spice and wolf is better. although it is better i still think it is kinda boring, nothing really happens. No fighting, no flirting, no comedy, and the writers aren’t really using anything cool about wolves. for example: wolves can run up to 60 miles per hour for 20 minutes straight.


  7. Well, Rome wasn’t build in a day. Give it a bit of time.


  8. LOL, even hero has its beginning too.

    What i want to know the most is what are they going to do with Chloe character.


  9. Yeah, hopefully she will be seen soon again. I like what I’ve seen of her so far.



Leave a Reply

