h1

Halftime for Minami-ke

December 10, 2007

Minami-ke

Minami-ke truly turned out to be the jewel it promised to be from the first episode. It’s not like they are inventing the wheel anew here, but even the cheapest gags are presented in a somehow fresh way. Cross dressing for example is one of the unfunniest things I can imagine, none the less I couldn’t help but enjoy Makoto’s transformation to Mako-chan. And the last time that I literally laughed out loud at the sight of somebody pulling off another one’s trousers as she tries to stop her is surely far far back in time. I can’t put the finger on what they are doing different, but they are doing it really well. Of course they do even better with the uncheap gags which outnumber the cheap ones by far. The chemistry between the three sisters is just right and by being such different characters they complement each other perfectly. Especially Kana’s ability to manipulate the people around her to her favor amaze me each time again. She might not look like it, but she is a natural mastermind.

On a pretty related note I’ve mixed feelings about Minami-ke: Okawari. As far as I understand it’s a different attempt of an adaptation of the manga by another studio. From the picture it appears that they switched Kana to be the youngest sister and Chiaki to be the middle sister (reason totally unknown to me). I’m afraid that series can’t reach the current Minami-ke, but surely I’ll give it a try.

6 comments

  1. Minami-ke is an undiluted pleasure, hilarious and smart enough without trying to be too smart. Wierd that the manga’s getting two adaptions, even wierder if they really have switched ages around (let’s hope that picture gives the wrong impression).


  2. I took away a lot good points from this piece and will definitely save it in my bookmarks. Thanks for the effort you took to expand upon this matter so throroughly. I look forward to future posts.


  3. Blueair 402 Filter…

    Blueair 402 Replacement filter…


  4. fantastic this Halftime for Minami-ke Anime Afterglow certainly fun to share


  5. It’s actually a nice and helpful piece of info. I am glad that you shared this helpful info with us. Please keep us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.


  6. I needed to post you one tiny note to finally thank you so much again on the beautiful knowledge you’ve documented at this time. This is really wonderfully generous with people like you to present easily precisely what a lot of people might have sold as an e book to end up making some money on their own, mostly given that you could have tried it in case you considered necessary. These suggestions additionally worked to be the easy way to fully grasp the rest have the identical eagerness much like my very own to figure out lots more with respect to this issue. I think there are thousands of more fun situations in the future for folks who take a look at your blog.



Leave a Reply

