h1

Kimikiss Pure Rouge & Rental Magica

October 16, 2007

Kimikiss Pure Rouge

Kimikiss Pure Rouge

While watching the intro of Kimikiss Pure Rouge I was more than tempted to stop immediately, because it literally screams harem romance with mediocre character design and animation quality. Well, I accomplish to sit through it after all and the episode itself was fortunately much better than expected. Instead of some generic harem show Kimikiss features a more or less equal amount of male and female characters of whom nobody can claim the “main lead”-title. The plot develops around the whole group and their interaction among each other (which are in major parts of romantic nature, granted). Four pairings have found themselves so far with the screentime shared fairly among them and much potential to develop.
Altogether a quite interesting series, but I’m afraid that it might not be as interesting as other series I’m watching at the moment. So maybe it’ll drop out over the course of time, but I’m not sure yet.

Rental Magica

Rental Magica

I’m a bit puzzled about Rental Magica. Basically I like the concept of it (since the end of Ghost Hunt I miss some “Ghostbuster”-feeling in my anime mix), but the first episode was rushed way to much and quite confusing, the second one only added to this confusion by being chronically settled before the first episode without make clear so from the beginning and the president is rather annoying so far. If they’ll take a bit time to develop the different cases a bit, maybe through spending two episodes on each (the three ones of Ghost Hunt where often a bit too much), and also give the characters more depth over the time I think this could turn out to be a very interesting and enjoyable series. If the pace stays the way it is at the moment, it won’t I’m afraid. I guess time will tell about this.

2 comments

  1. I think that kimikiss it’s quite good, i’ve seen till chapter 11. at first it not seem to be an intersting serie, but as it go on it become better.
    thank you
    bye


  2. The pace of Rental Magica stays about the same. The trick with it is to watch the episodes in the right order. You can find the chronological list of episodes on Wikipedia. As for Itsuki…I can’t say he’s annoying anymore because I absolutely adore him now. XD



Leave a Reply

